yellow ribbon for sarcoma awareness on a light blue background
Print icon
share icon

Sarcoma — The Forgotten Cancer

July 14, 2021
2 minutes
Personal Health
No items found.

Yellow Ribbons conjure many feelings.

They’re used to promote awareness of suicide prevention, missing children, numerous medical conditions (including several types of cancer). They remind us to support our troops and remember those missing or killed in action.

They’re also used to represent sarcoma awareness.

And, in honor of Sarcoma Awareness Month, we share this yellow ribbon today.

What is Sarcoma?

According to The National Foundation for Cancer Research,

“Sarcoma is a rare but deadly form of cancer affecting connective tissues such as fat, muscle, blood vessels, nerve, bone, deep skin and cartilage.”

There are two main types of sarcomas — soft tissue sarcomas and bone sarcomas, but there are many subgroups. In fact, The Mayo Clinic lists over 70.

Often called, “the forgotten cancer,” sarcoma is most commonly diagnosed in children.

But while considered a “rare” cancer, making up only 1% of all cancers, survival rates for those with sarcoma are low. And diagnosis and treatment are difficult.

That makes awareness critical!

Around 12,000–15,000 people are diagnosed with sarcoma each year in the US. For those battling sarcoma and their loved-ones, the “rarity” of this disease is no comfort.

To help do our part in raising awareness, we’ve compiled a list of resources and sources of additional information for those who’d like to learn more.


American Childhood Cancer Organization

Sarcoma Alliance

Sarcoma Foundation of America

Cancer Financial Assistance Coalition (CFAC)

National Cancer Institute (NCI)

Cancer Care

Johns Hopkins Sarcoma Center

No items found.
Evidation on Apple App StoreEvidation on Google Play Store
No items found.
Download app